Accidentally upgraded to 16.0.6.639 August 2020

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alphabetic

3CX MVP
Silver Partner
Advanced Certified
Joined
Jul 1, 2016
Messages
6,574
Reaction score
2,585
Good Morning

I've accidentally installed 16.0.6.639 over the top of .622 and now it wants me to run through the installer wizard.

Is there any way of getting back to a working 3CX?

we only have a basic backup of the system..

I've f... up basically.
 
Ok luckily my colleague was doing a native backup so I have been able to restore to the latest version. Brb whilst I change my pants.
 
Do you have automatic backups enabled? You should be storing a backup offsite as best practice.
Basically if you installed a fresh copy of 3cx over top of the old one then you will need to restore the last backup or if you are using a virtual machine maybe you stored a snapshot of the VM before you did this? If you use the 3cx backup to local folder it should still be there unless when you reinstalled you wiped the partition. but please do offsite backup or at least off host via SFTP or SMB options to another local machine where you subsequently do an offsite backup.

One of the better options is to backup offsite:
https://www.3cx.com/docs/google-cloud-storage/
(Do not make mistake like I did and select nearline storage class though. 3cx backup is not compatible with that type and you will be overcharged about 28-60x higher due to nightly backup file rename changes being charged for early delete)

Thankfully the 3cx backups are generally very good as long as you remember to make them.
 
Generally installing one version over the other, depending on how you do it, can potentially wipe the Database clean, so there is no coming back from that if that happens.

The advice of @QueBall is excellent, not the part about Google Buckets, but generally keeping backups off the system. You never know what can happen.

Glad you managed to get it working again though!
 
I had followed the hotfix link from the MGMT console which brought me to the change log and I didnt look carefully as the link was something like Beta / Hotfix (2 separate links) and I clicked beta instead of hotfix.

Normally I wouldnt have to worry as I know my installs are solid but as this was an install my colleague did, I thought I was up schitt creek without a paddle.

This'll teach me to not be so arrogant!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.