Backups

Heath

Customer
Advanced Certified
Joined
Aug 12, 2017
Messages
287
Reaction score
3
I currently have Enterprise system with the failover and standby license. I have it set that the primary takes a backup every day. I also have it set that the backup restores on the failover about 2 hours after the backup is taken from the primary. I do get an alert when the backup and restores are complete. What I’m experiencing is if there are any changes to the primary server such as a new extension, a change to an extension or SIP, it seems that the restore is not overriding or being changed on the failover. Now if I do a manual backup on the primary and then manually restore in the failover then it does make the changes on the failover.

I can’t figure out why it’s doing this. The whole purpose of the auto backup and restore daily is if the primary goes down and the failover comes online it should be exactly the same.
 
This points to one of 2 things: EITHER the system is restoring the wrong version; OR the restore is not happening at all.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Evolute IT
Send screenshots of your failover options on both servers.
 
As a first step verify the backup:
Check the timestamp and file size of the `3CXScheduledBackup.zip` file. Does it correspond to the time your primary server's scheduled backup runs? Does its size change when you make configuration changes on the primary? This will confirm if the latest backup is indeed being created and uploaded correctly.

Then we need to see if the backup server is truly loading this file.
 
As a first step verify the backup:
Check the timestamp and file size of the `3CXScheduledBackup.zip` file. Does it correspond to the time your primary server's scheduled backup runs? Does its size change when you make configuration changes on the primary? This will confirm if the latest backup is indeed being created and uploaded correctly.

Then we need to see if the backup server is truly loading this file.
The time stamp is definitely current. And I do get an email when the backup is complete in the primary and when the restore is complete on the passive. And yes the size did change a little bit when I made config changes. Also on the primary, passive, and the server where the files are backing up all match the date, time, and size
 
About your comment:
<quote>...when the restore is complete on the passive.</quote>

Are you able to be absolutely sure the CORRECT file was restored?
 
On the active server it’s set to take the backup at midnight daily and the file that is created is 3CXScheduledBackup.zip. And I get an email when the backup is complete. On the passive server is set to restore daily at 2am and says Schedule an automatic restore of 3CXScheduledBackup.zip. And I get an email when the restore is complete.

So if on the Passive is set to restore the same file as where the auto backup is. I would think it’s the same. The only thing that I can think of is the auto backup is not backing up everything including any changes that were made but the size is different so I can’t see that being the issue, but anything is possible.
 
That sounds like the file isn't the same. Backups always include all changes. After backing up, check if the file is indeed correct.
 
And how do you do that.
 
Heath, Are you sure the two systems are using the same cloud storage account?
 
yes I confirmed that both servers are on the same cloud account.
 
And how do you do that.
Extract the xml file from the root of the backup zip, edit it in notepad or similar, and search for the changed info. If it's present in the xml, then it should be restored. If it's not, that's the problem.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bitn2
Extract the xml file from the root of the backup zip, edit it in notepad or similar, and search for the changed info. If it's present in the xml, then it should be restored. If it's not, that's the problem.
I did look at it and it is present.. But what's also happening is if I delete all the recordings on primary server.. Then when it does the daily backup on the primary and restore on the failover, the recordings are still there on the failover.. If I do a manual backup and manual restore, same thing...
 
Are you saying:

On Server 1, you make a recording. Backup, restore to server 2, recording is present. Then on server 1 you delete the recording, make a new backup, restore to server 2, and it's still present on server 2?
 
Yup. That is exactly what I am saying
 

Latest Posts

Forum statistics

Threads
111,952
Messages
589,894
Members
164,844
Latest member
abctel2