Provisioning wiping out custom settings

Status
Not open for further replies.

infonetics

Customer
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Messages
43
Reaction score
0
I have a Cisco SPA504G at my house, running across a VPN to our 3CX system at my office. Last night, I configured Line 4 to use a personal SIP account that I opened to replace my home phone. It worked great, but when the phone re-provisioned at 2:00am, it changed the Line 4 button back to match 1-3. When I login to the phone, the profile is still there under "EXT4". When I go to the Phone tab though, Line Key 4 has been changed back to "1" instead of "4".

I can't find any reference to this in the provisioning template. It appears to have only "Profile 1". It also seems that if I modify the template, it will put this account on everyone's phone. How do I keep the nightly provisioning from changing this setting back?
 
Could you not just disable the re-provisioning option on the set? Should it not, then, retain any changes that you have made locally?
 
That would probably work - but any potential downsides to not refreshing the phone daily?
 
No downsides at all ... We often do this on installs, as we know that once we provision the phone, the user may need handset mic. levels changed to suit, or may change their ringtones etc. Our provisioning templates are heavily modified to introduce timezone & daylight saving rules etc also. But - once all that's in the phone, just go to the Provisioning page [admin logon needed], and turn off the provisioning enable at the top.

Best rgeards
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Members Online Now

Forum statistics

Threads
111,843
Messages
589,328
Members
164,680
Latest member
JV J