Switching to multi-tenant mode

RobColver

Customer
Basic Certified
Joined
Sep 9, 2022
Messages
81
Reaction score
18
I have an existing v20 build 6 single tenant installation which has around 20 Departments already set up. If I switch to multi-tenant mode, will I be prompted to assign numbers ranges to the existing departments or will I have to create new Departments and, in effect, start over?

PS The reason I'm considering going down the multi-tenant route is the change in Hide User behaviour from v18 to v20. In v20, if I check Hide User, that user no longer appears in the Teams view and their extension cannot be added as a BLF which surely cannot be the intended behaviour? All I really wanted to do was to hide them from the company phone book!
 
Please note: You should not enable multi-tenancy on a system that already has all users configured. When multi-tenancy is activated, departments and their associated extension ranges are assigned during the creation of the departments, not beforehand.

Additionally, enabling the “Hide User” option will remove those users from the Teams section and prevent them from appearing in the BLF list for other users.
 
Many thanks for your reply Charles. In v18, the "hide user" option (or the equivalent setting) didn't prevent users from appearing in the BLF list. Is this a deliberate change in v20 and, if so, why? I have users that were created in v18 that have the "hide user" box checked, and they still appear in BLF entries that were created under v18 which tends confirms that this is new behavior in v20!
 
In V18, the option was "Hide this extension from 3CX company phonebook and 3CX Apps". In v20, the option is "Hide User" and does as it says on the tin :)
 
Hmm. So there's no way to hide a user solely from the company phone book? And no way to suppress the company phone book altogether? In other words, if I have Hide User unchecked (so that user appears in Teams and/or BLF lists) and I'm not running in multi-tenant mode, I have to live with the fact that the user will appear in the company phone book and be visible (in Contacts) to all other users of the system.

I'd love to have some insight into the rationale behind this.

PS I really do appreciate your responses Charles even though it may not always appear that way :-)
 
I have some users that were created under v18 with the "Hide this extension from 3CX company phonebook and 3CX Apps" checked and others (in the same Department) created under v20 update 6 with "Hide User" checked. The ones created under v18 are visible in the Team view to other members of the same Department whereas the ones created under v20 update 6 are not. I understand that the "Hide" functionality has changed but the system clearly still knows the difference between "Hide this extension from 3CX company phonebook and 3CX Apps" and "Hide User" (and probably also "Hide from Contacts" that was available in earlier updates of v20). Why can't this difference be exposed to admins who could then choose whether to hide from the Team view, hide from Contacts or both?
 

Forum statistics

Threads
111,957
Messages
589,929
Members
164,861
Latest member
LewisJC