Possible bug with user pics synced from M365

GWinchester

Customer
Joined
Oct 23, 2025
Messages
20
Reaction score
17
Let's say I have an extension 205, that extension is a user, "user1" that is sync from M365.
"User1" has left the company and for various reasons we need to keep this extension active.
I un-select the user from M365 sync.
I change the email address in extension 205 to "user2" email address.
I turn on sync for "user2" in M365.
All the details from "user2" populate the details of the extension however the pic remains that of user1.
It should be pointed out that "user2" does not have a pic yet since they are new to the company.
So the question is, why in 3cx does "user1" pic not get cleared since "user2" does not have a pic? is this a known bug?
Of course I could just add a default pic to "user2" but I shouldn't have to.
Eventually "user2" will get a pic which would resolve this but that is not the point.
 
@GWinchester In my experience the only way to fully clear sync for 365 users without deleting and re-adding the extension is to use the Clear option from the Team tab because once synced they used the GUID and not the UPN. It retains all group/queue/ring group memberships but be sure to enable outbound calls when setting up the new user. It will remove the old user photo.

@NikosT_3CX is the action of unselecting an extension from sync and then changing the email address a supported method? If so, it should sync a null value in 365 and remove the user photo in 3CX if one exists.
 

Members Online Now

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
111,843
Messages
589,327
Members
164,679
Latest member
SamadMYK