Purging chat for specific extensions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris Walters

Platinum Partner
Advanced Certified
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
105
Reaction score
43
I am trying to remove chat history for a single extension. I have enabled chat logging, but within the chat logs the options for purging are global.

Filtering the chats by a specific extension works for viewing, but the purge function still removes messages globally, disregarding all filter settings.

How can I target the chats for a specific extension to remove them?

If this functionality is not implemented in the Admin or Management Console, where is the file storage location for these chats in the 3CX directory structure?
 
  • Like
Reactions: MaciejP
Hi Chris, you may try to delete the user and then create it again. In this way the chat history will not appear for the user, but you can still have it from the chat logs.
 
What else do you lose by deleting and recreating a user, do you lose call logs, recordings, voicemails for that extension?

It has been suggested over in O365 forum hat the same action will resolve a user contact sync issue, but we have not yet seen an answer to that post.
 
Hi Chris, you may try to delete the user and then create it again. In this way the chat history will not appear for the user, but you can still have it from the chat logs.
Thanks for your response.

Unfortunately, that's exactly what we want to avoid. Deleting the user breaks their BLF assignment on all other extensions.

For example: Extension 111 Alejandro gets deleted and then we re-create it as extension 111 Open as a placeholder for the next incoming employee. ALL other extensions that had BLF 111 Alejandro will now have a broken button. In the Management Console, this will be converted to a Custom Speed Dial with number 111 and no name. This means when you go to save any changes to ALL OTHER extensions on the system, you will get an error and be forced to delete that BLF entry, or enter a name in the Custom Speed Dial fields.

We are trying to avoid deleting extensions at all costs because it makes BLF management across the rest of the system a NIGHTMARE. If the system were to turn all of those BLFs into BLANK instead of Custom Speed Dial, this would be acceptable.

For systems with 10 users using a BLF template, no big deal. For a system with 350 users that have all customized their BLFs, atrocious.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MaciejP
What else do you lose by deleting and recreating a user, do you lose call logs, recordings, voicemails for that extension?

It has been suggested over in O365 forum hat the same action will resolve a user contact sync issue, but we have not yet seen an answer to that post.

I /believe/ you lose all of that.
 
+1

I have a customer asking to delete old chat history for a specific extension too. This request is requested since many years now.

Scenario:
1- One staff member quit
2- We hire new staff
3- We delete and create the extension
4.0- The chat history is not visible for the new staff but on the other side all the existing staff see the old chat history. Witch for me, make sense. Group discussion and one to one discussion would be kind of "broken" with just one side of a discussion.
4.1- Honestly I understand the solution of simply deleting old chat history. Chat is chat...
4.2- I don't know but could we simply create a kind of moderation for the group chat and one-to-one chat
4.3- We could simply archive some chat and add a reason for moderation. So the chat would be visible/hidden with a comment field (ex: archived for "comment")
4.4- Moderation could be done/undone for a specific extension and a specific time range by the admin of the system
5.0- This would allow to archive the old chat log without deleting them from the system too.

I don't know this is just some ideas. Looking to find the most suitable way for staff move.

Just to add, we don't have BLF issues with the delete/create process with the on-premise version 18 update 7

Maybe I'm a bit off-topic, but we also have an issue with the group chat. If a new staff member is added to a group chat and the extension was previously assigned to a deleted user, the 'added user' message sent to everyone shows the old staff name. We call it the resurrection bug.

Thank you
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: MaciejP
Status
Not open for further replies.

Forum statistics

Threads
112,147
Messages
590,961
Members
165,167
Latest member
Finatra.us