Hi Scott,
Not quite, I think support just removed it to make the process easier since you asked them, but it's not a necessary step.
However if you need it removed for any reason, then yes you will have to go via support.
Here is my suggestion if you wish to re-deploy a phone that already exists in the RPS currently.
1. Delete the phone from 3CX
2. Factory reset it (and ignore when it asks credentials)
3. Perform your upgrade
4. Add it back in 3CX fresh
5. Instead of rebooting now, Factory reset again as your final step.
This now means it is no longer necessary to ask to have the RPS entry removed if you run into trouble.
PS: I can't say for certain what happened in your case, but as they say the devil is in the details and I suspect this was due to the order in which the task was carried out causing a loop, one that can easily be cured using the above steps.