Transfer Chat / SMS BACK to a queue instead of an extension.

Status
Not open for further replies.

therepairshack

Customer
Joined
Aug 23, 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Scenario...
Person sends an sms. The sms is routed to the corresponding queue it's assigned to. Users within the queue can see the message and multiple people respond. Works great.... until.... you want to transfer it to another queue, OR if a user takes the chat/sms... if they want to transfer the conversation BACK to the original queue... it's not possible it seems. The only thing on the list to transfer to are users. None of the queue extensions are on the list. Secondly, the only way to even see the transfer option is to take the conversation. This creates all sorts of tracking issues where a conversation can get lost and locked out from people being able to recover it because once it's been taken, nobody except the person it's assigned to will be able to handle see it. The only way to make it available to all users within a queue is to mark it as dealt and wait for a new text to come in from the same person, but at that point it restarts the entire text stream.

So my question is, am I missing something or is this how this was designed?
If this is how it's designed... is there plans to fix these very obvious design holes?
 
Hi!

Reading though your post, I can extract 2 questions:

  • Can I transfer a chat message I have taken to a target other than another Extension?
    > No, the current design of Messaging only allows you to transfer a taken Conversation to another Extension. This means that even if the Conversation was originally in a Queue, after a user "takes" it, they cannot put it back.

  • After a Queue Agent has Taken a Conversation can anybody else see that Conversation?
    > Yes, Queue Managers of that Queue can see and track any Conversation that entered the 3CX system via the Queue they are Queue Managers of. This remains true even if the Conversation is transferred to an extension that is not an agent of the Queue.
    A Conversation will only disappear, from the view of a Queue Manager when the Conversation is marked as "Dealt with".
    This is where the Queue Manager can view the Queue Messages from:
    1629814753530.png
 
Hi!

Reading though your post, I can extract 2 questions:

  • Can I transfer a chat message I have taken to a target other than another Extension?
    > No, the current design of Messaging only allows you to transfer a taken Conversation to another Extension. This means that even if the Conversation was originally in a Queue, after a user "takes" it, they cannot put it back.

  • After a Queue Agent has Taken a Conversation can anybody else see that Conversation?
    > Yes, Queue Managers of that Queue can see and track any Conversation that entered the 3CX system via the Queue they are Queue Managers of. This remains true even if the Conversation is transferred to an extension that is not an agent of the Queue.
    A Conversation will only disappear, from the view of a Queue Manager when the Conversation is marked as "Dealt with".
    This is where the Queue Manager can view the Queue Messages from:
    View attachment 23942


Thanks, Is there a way to prevent a user from marking it as dealt with to avoid a conversation becoming lost?

Also are there plans to introduce the ability to transfer a chat back to a queue?

And last question... if a chat is sent to an extension, can that chat be forwarded out if the user is marked as Away?
 
  • Like
Reactions: DavidM84
For the time being, none of this points are currently on the roadmap, but there are plans to review Messaging some time in the lifespan of V18, so we shall take all this into consideration.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Forum statistics

Threads
112,065
Messages
590,584
Members
165,019
Latest member
rsaldin@advancedbrainspin