Users who have left

Status
Not open for further replies.

i3

Silver Partner
Basic Certified
Joined
Jun 6, 2012
Messages
50
Reaction score
4
How do you deal with users who have left that had 3cx set up on their cell phone app? I have already regenerated the extension credentials, and also disabled the tunnel and out of lan registration on this extension, however, it's a matter of time before this position gets filled and I will have to deploy this same extension. I know the ip will be blacklisted, but how will that affect any other user that may get that public ip on from their cellular carrier?
 
delete the extension or regenerate the SIP registration details, should be simple enough - the phone wont register again.

Once configuration is on the device however it can only be wiped by the user - same as an IP phone.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NickD_3CX
Thank you for your reply. The potential issue is that if I regenerate the SIP reg details, and allow remote registration again, there is a small chance that another potential user using the same cellular provider as this user did, (Verizon), could potentially get the same public IP at some point assigned to their cell phone from the provider and would not allow them to register since that public IP would be blacklisted due to the invalid ext credentials. I am not sure what the probability of this happening is but want to plan for it.

Also, if I regenerate the sip reg details, and the "reprovision on startup" box is checked on the 3cx app for that extension, wont the handset get the updated credentials?
 
you have Static IPs on your Mobiles?
 
I doubt this would ever happen, however if you are concerned it is simple enough on 3CX to delete and re-create the extension itself, you also have the extension replication now on 3CX v16.
 
you have Static IPs on your Mobiles?
No, I am talking about the public ip that our cellular providers give all mobile devices for their data plan. They are usually DHCP and change over time. While the probability of it happening is low, it is possible.
 
I doubt this would ever happen, however if you are concerned it is simple enough on 3CX to delete and re-create the extension itself, you also have the extension replication now on 3CX v16.
I agree the probability is low, I just wanted to get other's thoughts.
 
Regenerate is not suited for this. This is because the phones are defaulted to update the configuration on startup and will just pull the new config file changes and register.

Delete the extension and re-add it.

Turning off tunnel and external access or setting extension to disable are great temporary actions but you need to make sure before re-assigning it to delete and re-add the extension if a former employee was running the mobile or softphone applications.
 
  • Like
Reactions: YiannisH_3CX
As mentioned you need to delete the extension and re-create it to eliminate the chance of the client to re-register to the PBX.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Forum statistics

Threads
111,934
Messages
589,818
Members
164,811
Latest member
aurorasigntrtechitnet