Feature Request: Department Manager and Department Reports

guzzitech

Premier Customer
Advanced Certified
Joined
May 8, 2024
Messages
30
Reaction score
9
Hi... so my system is ~500 phones spread out over 25 businesses. We have departments for each location and they have a manger who can pull reports etc.

One big downside I've seen so far is those "managers" feel the need to delete Users (extensions) of staff that is not currently with us.

SInce our IT team is small (2 people), we don't have a good way to remove users when staff leaves. So far, we just leave them as is and then when a new hire happens, we update the extension and move on with our lives. Since many of these phones are in sales/service/parts groups, our extensions are in ranges so that we don't have to redo ring groups etc. However, when a manager goes ahead and randomly deletes a user it removes the phone.

Then with IT being far away, we have to ask end users to get us MAC addresses so that we can reconfigure. Then we are providing instructions to factory reset.

Don't even get me started when someone deletes a user that happens to be on a router phone (smaller shops we use this but our bigger deployed locations have rpi sbc).

---------------

So the request -- unless I'm missing another Role -- is can we have a Reporting role that is essentially manager but without the ability to delete users?
 
Or maybe just give us the ability to tailor the existing roles. Like edit roles, Manager, uncheck delete users.
 
  • Like
Reactions: EmmettsIT
@guzzitech - I would recommend that you train your customer to use the "Clear" extension feature rather than delete. This is found in the Team view of the webclient > click the 3 dots beside the extension name and then select "Clear". It will remove the user, but the phone will stay connected and can be easily reprovisioned whenever you add a new user to that extension. You will need to have at least Receptionist rights in order to clear an extension.
Clear.png
 
In the perfect world, all your phones would be configured to be router phones. Then if the designated router phone is deleted, it does not impact other users. You are clearly already familiar with 3CX roles and what is necessary for managers to do their jobs. I cannot help there... but I may be able to offer a tool to make your life a little easier.

1747413223401.png
Our 3CX Profile Manager tool makes it super simple to assign users to the correct departments, queues, and ring groups. In your case, you might have a profile for each location and role. Then all you need to do is assign a user to the correct profile and they are automatically added to the desired resources. For existing users, it can also remove them from previous resources as it adds them to the new.

So if you have a manager deleting users, at least adding the user back, or creating new users with the correct resources, becomes a one-click step.
 
  • Like
Reactions: guzzitech

Latest Posts

Members Online Now

Forum statistics

Threads
111,831
Messages
589,276
Members
164,658
Latest member
gumby156